NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series History

February 1, 2011 - 4:37pm

Now in its fifth season, the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series is coming off four highly-successful seasons. Capacity crowds have been the hallmark of the young series, racing in front of 60,000 fans in both Edmonton and Montreal. The hotly-contested competition and Canada’s excitement for the NASCAR brand have been two of the primary reasons for the tremendous support.

NASCAR announced in September 2006 the purchase of the CASCAR Super Series, the top stock-car racing series in Canada. At the same time, they announced a long-term sponsorship agreement with Canadian Tire Corporation as the entitlement sponsor of the new series.

A gradual implementation of both competition and safety-based modifications have been made to the cars used in the CASCAR Super Series. These have included a move to a Goodyear 9.5” tire, the same size that is used in all NASCAR stock-car series, on-dash electrical and ignition systems, in-car fire suppression equipment and increased fuel cell protection. In 2009, the option of utilizing the NASCAR spec engine program was introduced.

RECORD BOOK (2007-2010)

The first race was held on May 26, 2007 at Cayuga Motor Speedway and Don Thomson Jr. won a spirited battle for the first series win.

Andrew Ranger, in his first year of stock-car competition, won the second race at Mosport International Raceway. He took over the lead in the point standings after that event and never relinquished it on his way to the first championship. The first season saw no less than five races decided on the final lap.

The second season, in 2008, featured Scott Steckly and his sometimes dominating run to the series crown. He won three of the first four events of the year and held a tight grip on the driver championship point standings all season long. He set a series record with four victories in all. Also, Thomson established a series record with seven poles throughout the year.

In 2009, Andrew Ranger, again, took center stage by winning his second series championship in three seasons. He completed his transition from the open-wheel racing world by incorporating his highly-skilled abilities on the road courses with equally as strong program on the oval tracks. On the season, he won a single-season series record six races—three on road courses and three on ovals.

The 2010 season belonged to DJ Kennington. He won his first series title on the power of five wins, nine top fives and 11 top-10 finishes. Kennington battled JR Fitzpatrick for the points lead all season long as the two exchanged the top spot an unprecedented five times. In the Montreal event at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, three female drivers (Maryeve Dufault, Caitlin Johnston and Isabelle Tremblay) were in the starting field of 34 cars.

In just four seasons, six drivers have moved up to compete in two of three NASCAR’s top series. Fitzpatrick, Kennington, Ranger, Steckly and Thomson have competed in the NASCAR Nationwide Series. Fitzpatrick and Derek White have raced in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Ranger finished third in the 2009 NASCAR Nationwide Series event after having a spirited battle with eventual race winner Carl Edwards for much of the race.