NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

Stat Advance: UNOH Southern Slam 150

Analyzing The Southern Modifieds At Charlotte
Tim Southers, NASCAR
October 11, 2011 - 11:35am

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Oct. 11, 2011) – The seventh season of the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour continues at Charlotte Motor Speedway with the UNOH Southern Slam 150 on Thursday, Oct. 13. The race will be contested on the quarter-mile track at Charlotte Motor Speedway in Concord, N.C.

Selected Driver Highlights:
Tim Brown (No. 02 Chevrolet)
• Finished second in the season-ending points standings a record three times from 2006-2008.
• Has 70 career NWSMT starts, ranks second in top-five finishes with 39 and has 58 top-10 finishes.
• Finished second in the UNOH Southern Slam last year at Charlotte Motor Speedway.
• Has six wins, the most recent came on Sept. 4, 2010 at Langley Speedway, his first since 2008.

George Brunnhoelzl III (No. 09 Chevrolet)
• The 2009 NWSMT champion has returned to the tour in 2011 after competing full-time on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour last season.
• Competes for veteran car owner Howard Harvey.
• Owner of 10 wins, 11 poles and 40 top 10s in 54 career NWSMT starts.
• This will be his first start on the quarter-mile track at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Frank Fleming (No. 40 Ford)
• Is tied for the most career NWSMT starts with 83 and has only missed one race since 2005.
• Was credited with his first career win as the highest finishing NWSMT driver in the UNOH Perfect Storm 150 at Bristol Motor Speedway. Has finished second seven times, the most recent one at Caraway was on July 3, 2009.
• Finished seventh in the UNOH Southern Slam 150 on Oct. 14, 2010.
• Brother, Chris Fleming, serves as his crew chief.

L.W. Miller (No. 36 Pontiac)
• The 2007 NWSMT champion. Won by 25 points over Tim Brown (1,930-1,905).
• Finished second in the 2010 final standings, 31 points behind Burt Myers.
• Holds the record for the most career wins on the NWSMT with 13, in just 67 starts.
• Most recent win on the tour was at Bowman Gray Stadium on Aug. 6, 2011.
• Has a win (Martinsville) and 10 top 10s in 75 career NWMT starts and has also made 13 NASCAR Nationwide Series and six NASCAR Camping World Truck Series starts during his racing career.
• Finished sixth in the UNOH Southern Slam 150 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Oct. 14, 2010.

Burt Myers (No. 1 Ford)
• Defending NWSMT champion.
• Holds NWSMT career records for poles (23), top-fives (44) and top-10s (67).
• Defending champion of the UNOH Southern Slam 150 on Oct. 14, 2010.
• Has raced with his brother, Jason, in the NWSMT since 2005.
• Produces a weekly show on his Facebook page for his fans to watch Thursday night’s at 9 p.m.

Jason Myers (No. 4 Ford)
• Is tied with Frank Fleming for most career NWSMT starts with 83.
• Picked up his lone win at Bowman Gray on Aug. 5, 2006.
• Is currently enjoying his most consistent season to date and enters this week third in the standings.
• Holds the record for consecutive NWSMT starts with 73; started every race since Martinsville (9/5/05).

Andy Seuss (No. 11 Chevrolet)
• Won the pole at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Oct. 14, 2010.
• Hampstead, N.H., native has 11 wins and 41 top-10 finishes in 55 career NWSMT starts.
• Also has three top-10 finishes in 24 career NWMT starts.

John Smith (No. 25 Chevrolet)
• Picked up his first NWSMT win at Caraway Speedway on July 3, 2010.
• Has 42 top-10 finishes in 62 career NWSMT starts.
• Finished in the top 10 in the final points standings three years in a row (2008-2010), with a career-best fifth last year.
• Works full-time at Richard Childress Racing.

Thomas Stinson (No. 7 Chevrolet)
• Finished second to record his best career NWSMT finish at Caraway on April 23, 2011. Stinson also finished third in the first race of the year at Caraway on March 13.
• Has 14 top-10 and three top-five finishes in 30 career NWSMT starts.

Charlotte Motor Speedway Data
Race: #13 of 14 overall
Track Layout: .25-mile paved oval
Race Length: 150 laps/37.50 miles

Qualifying/Race Data
2010 pole winner: Andy Seuss
2010 race winner: Burt Myers
Track qualifying record: Andy Seuss (59.717 mph, 15.071 seconds, 10/14/10)
Track race record (150 L): Burt Myers (34.983 mph, 1:04:19, 10/14/10)

NWSMT All-Time Win Leaders
At Charlotte Motor Speedway
1. Burt Myers 1

NWSMT Top-10 Points Standings
1. George Brunnhoelzl III 2041
2. Andy Seuss 1911
3. Jason Myers 1798
4. John Smith 1780
5. Tim Brown. 1736
6. L.W. Miller 1735
7. Frank Fleming 1711
8. Austin Pack 1612
9. Burt Myers 1519
10. Thomas Stinson 1314

Up To Speed:
• Since the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour formed in 2005, there have been 84 races in the history of the tour.
• The NWSMT has crowned five different champions: Junior Miller (2005, 2006), L.W. Miller (2007), Brian Loftin (2008), George Brunnhoelzl III (2009) and Burt Myers (2010) during its previous six years of competition.
• Loftin captured the pole and Brunnhoelzl the checkered flag in the 2011 season opener at Caraway Speedway on March 13.
• Brunnhoelzl took the checkered flag at Hickory Motor Speedway on April 2, for his second win of the season.
• Ted Christopher won the rain-delayed race at South Boston over Brunnhoelzl.
• Christopher won the Caraway 150 in April at Caraway for his sixth career southern modified win.
• L.W. Miller returned to Victory Lane after almost a year-long absence and won the Firecracker 150 presented by Budweiser. It was his 12th career NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour win, which gave him the record outright. He was tied with Loftin and Junior Miller for the mark prior to the Caraway race.
• L.W. Miller kept his hot streak alive and made it two wins in a row by taking the 199 at Bowman Gray Stadium for his 13th career NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour win. He also moved up to third place in the current point standings.
• Frank Fleming’s eighth-place spot in the final overall rundown gave him credit for his first career win on the tour in his 78th start in the UNOH Perfect Storm 150 at Bristol Motor Speedway.
• Andy Seuss scored an emotional win at Caraway when he won the Caraway 150 driving his old car from the 2010 season for car owner Eddie Harvey and old car owner David Riggs. Riggs also won the race in 2010.
• Seuss became the third driver this season to win back-to-back races when he won the Newport News Shipbuilding 150 at Langley Speedway on Saturday, Sept. 3.
• Brunnhoelzl returned to Victory Lane for the first time since April when he won the Thompson Southern 125 at Thompson (Conn.) International Speedway during the UNOH Showdown weekend. It was the third win of the season for the 2009 NWSMT champion.
• Brunnhoelzl won back-to-back races for the second time this season after he won the Tri-County 150 at Tri-County Motor Speedway on Saturday, Sept. 24. With his fourth win of the year Brunnhoelzl is now just one win shy of his personal best for most wins in a season.
• Seuss matched a feat he accomplished in 2010 by leading every lap and winning the Caraway 150 on Saturday, Oct. 1, at Caraway Speedway. The win was the 11th for the Hampstead, N.H., driver.

Fast Facts:
• This will be the second NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race at Charlotte Motor Speedway and the eighth race on the tour in the state of North Carolina this season. • The track was designed and built by Bruton Smith and Curtis Turner, and opened June 19, 1960.
• The track has hosted all three NASCAR national touring series as well as various NASCAR touring divisions since 1960.
• Three of the five drivers who have won NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour races this season will compete at Charlotte Motor Speedway. George Brunnhoelzl, who leads all drivers with four wins, will be joined by Andy Seuss (three wins), and L.W. Miller (two wins).