NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

NASCAR Mexico Series Continues Growth in 2008

February 5, 2008 - 2:47pm

The NASCAR Mexico Series has made tremendous progress in its brief
history. The NASCAR Mexico Series, entering its fifth season overall
and its second under the NASCAR banner, has established a strong
following among the Mexican fans and become one of the most important
motor sport series of in the country. The growth and interest among the
public, media and sponsors has paved the way for the series to expand
in 2008 throughout the Mexican Republic to take the excitment of the
Championship to new cities with great fans for motor sports.

The NASCAR Nationwide Series will return to Mexico City to run the
Hermanos Rodriguez Autodrome road course for the third year in a row,
and for the first time the NASCAR Mexico Series event on the same
weekend will be a points event. Carlos Pardo won the 2007 race -- the
NASCAR Mexico Series Shootout -- when it was a non-points race. The
NASCAR Mexico Series will conclude the season at the Hermanos Rodriguez
Autodrome oval course.

Rafael Martinez captured the 2007 NASCAR Mexico Series championship by
just four points over Germain Quiroga. Martinez clinched his first
title by finishing fourth in the final race of the season at Mexico
City, which was won by Quiroga.

For 2008 season, the 14-race schedule features 11 ovals, includes three
new facilities beginning with the first race at the new Queretaro
Autodrome. The facility, which boasts a road course and an oval track,
will host the first race of the season March 30 on the road course. The
series will return Aug. 31 to run the oval.

The NASCAR Mexico Series will make its first visit to the beautiful
state of Chiapas, with its rich cultural history. Located in
Southeastern Mexico, the Chiapas Autodrome in Tuxtla Gutierrez will
host the NASCAR Mexico Series race October 5.

Also joining the series is the city of Aguascalientes, home of one of
Mexico’s top stock car drivers -- Rogelio Lopez. The Aguascalientes
driver recorded 15 victories, seven runner-up finishes and five
third-place finishes in 42 races. In addition to being the all-time
wins leader, he has the record of most pole positions with 14. The
Aguascalientes city is famous for organizing one of the most important
fairs of the country: The San Marcos Fair. It is in this same venue
where the NASCAR Mexico Series will race at the Aguascalientes
Autodrome Sept. 21.

The NASCAR Mexico Series will return to the tracks that have helped
make the series so successful. The Bernardo Obregon Autodrome tri-oval
in Guadalajara will host two races, May 18 and July 27. The Miguel E.
Abed Autodrome in Puebla will also run a pair of races (June 15 and
Aug. 17), as will the Potosino Oval in San Luis Potosi (May 4 and July
13). The 2008 NASCAR Mexico Series schedule includes a stop at the
Monterrey Autodrome in Monterrey June 29 and the Zacatecas Autodrome in
Zacatecas June 1.

A number of drivers are looking to challenge Martinez for the 2008
championship as the season continues to grow. Eight drivers have
already committed to running for the Rookie of the Year.

Date Day Venue Autodrome
1 March 30 Queretaro New Queretaro Autodrome (Road Course)
2 April 20 Mexico City(Nationwide Series) Hermanos Rodriguez Autodrome (Road Course)
3 May 04 San Luis Potosi Potosino Oval
4 May 18 Guadalajara Bernardo Obregon Autodrome (Trioval)
5 June 01 Zacatecas Zacatecas Autodrome (Road Course)
6 June 15 Puebla Miguel E. Abed Autodrome (Oval)
7 June 29 Monterrey Monterrey Autodrome (Oval)
8 July 13 San Luis Potosi Potosino Oval
9 July 27 Guadalajara Bernardo Obregon Autodrome (Trioval)
10 August 17 Puebla Miguel E. Abed Autodrome (Oval)
11 August 31 Queretaro New Queretaro Autodrome (Oval)
12 September 21 Aguascalientes New Aguascalientes Autodrome (Oval)
13 October 05 Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas Chiapas Autodrome (Oval)
14 October 26 Mexico City Hermanos Rodriguez Autodrome (Oval)