NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

Whelen Modified Stat Advance: NHMS

Analyzing The F.W. Webb 100 at New Hampshire
By Kyle Souza,
September 20, 2017 - 10:41am

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will continue the 2017 season on Saturday with the running of the F.W. Webb 100 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. The 100 lap race on the 1.058-mile oval will be the 14th of 16 championship points races. Below is a statistical look at the race, including selected driver notes:


F.W. Webb 100 Race Setup:
• The 100 lap race on Saturday marks the second of two appearances at NHMS this season. Bobby Santos III won the first race back in July. 
• Series points leader Ryan Preece will miss Saturday's F.W. Webb 100 to compete in the NASCAR XFINITY Series. Jon McKennedy will sub for him in the No. 6 TS Haulers Chevrolet. 
• Four-time champion Doug Coby enters second in the standings, six points from the lead. Timmy Solomito enters third, nine points from the top. 

History at New Hampshire Motor Speedway:

• The track opened in 1990 on the site of the old Briar Motorsports Park road course and immediately became New England’s largest sports facility of any kind. Measuring 1.058 miles in length, it is the largest speedway in the region, and with seating for nearly 100,00 people, it has the largest capacity of any venue.
• Tommy Ellis won the first NASCAR-sanctioned race held at New Hampshire, winning a 300-lap combination event involving both the NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR K&N Pro Series East.
• NHMS has hosted 66 previous NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour events. The track hosts Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series races each year as well as NASCAR XFINITY Series events. 

• Mike McLaughlin scored the victory in the first ever Whelen Modified Tour race at NHMS in 1990. 
• There have been 21 different winners at NHMS, led by Mike Stefanik who has eight career Modified wins at the track.
• There have been 26 different pole winners at NHMS, led by Jan Leaty with six. Among active drivers, Ryan Newman has five poles. 
• NHMS has been known for producing some of the closest finishes in series history. Last season, Doug Coby beat Donny Lia to the line by just 0.037 seconds. In 2008, Chuck Hossfeld beat Ted Christopher by just 0.001 seconds at the finish. 

NHMS Data:
Race: #14 of 16 overall
Race Date: Saturday, September 23 at 3:30 p.m. ET
Track Layout: 1.058-mile slightly banked asphalt oval 
Race Length: 100 laps (105.8 miles)

Qualifying/Race Data:
2016 Winner: Justin Bonsignore
2016 Pole Sitter: Rained Out
1-lap Qualifying Record: 132.743 mph (Tony Hirschman, July 2001)

Active Wins Leader at New Hampshire:

1. Doug Coby… 4
2. Todd Szegedy … 4
3. Four other drivers tied with … 2

1. Ryan Newman … 5
2. Ron Silk … 4

Laps Led
1. Ron Silk … 320
2. Todd Szegedy … 277
3. Doug Coby … 242

Top Fives
1. Ted Christopher … 21

2. Todd Szegedy … 13
3. Ron Silk … 13

Top 10s  
1. Todd Szegedy … 19
2. Ron Silk … 18
3. Doug Coby … 16

1. Jamie Tomaino … 66
2. Wade Cole … 59

Selected Participant Notes:

Justin Bonsignore (No. 51 Phoenix Communications Chevrolet)
• Bonsignore enters NHMS fourth in the championship standings, 24 points from the lead. 
• In 13 races this season, Bonsignore has five top fives and 10 top 10s. 
• Has four straight top 10 finishes, including a fifth at Riverhead last Saturday.  

• Has one win, including this race last season, and four top fives and six top 10s in 16 career New Hampshire starts. 

Doug Coby (No. 2 Mayhew Tools Chevrolet)
• The four-time Whelen Modified Tour champion enters New Hampshire second in the points lead, six from the top. 
• In the spring, Coby was running inside the top five late, but ended up finishing 11th. 
• In 28 career NHMS starts, Coby has four wins, 11 top fives and 16 top 10s, along with three Coors Light Pole Awards. 
• Has failed to finish five races at NHMS, but has finished inside the top three in five of his last seven Loudon starts.

Chase Dowling (No. 15 15-40 Connection Chevrolet)
• Has six starts this season and has finished inside the top five three times. 
• In 38 career Whelen Modified Tour starts, Dowling has seven top fives and 18 top 10s. 
• Dowling has one top five and three top 10s in five career New Hampshire starts.
• In July, Dowling finished fifth at New Hampshire in the Eastern Propane and Oil 100. 

Eric Goodale (No. 58 GAF Roofing Chevrolet)
Enters NHMS sixth in the championship standings 47 points from the lead.   
• Has two wins, 19 top fives and 62 top 10s in 131 career Whelen Modified Tour starts.  
• In 18 NHMS starts, Goodale has failed to finish inside the top five, but has six career top-10 runs. 
• Goodale has no wins, but four top fives and eight top 10s in the 13 races this season. 

Timmy Solomito (No. 16 Starrett Tools Ford)
• Solomito enters New Hampshire third in the championship standings, nine points from the lead. 
• In 13 races this season, Solomito has four wins, incuding the last series event at Riverhead. 
• Solomito has just one top 10 finish and one lap led in seven career starts at New Hampshire. 

• In July, Solomito finished 29th after being involved in a crash in the first half of the race.

Rowan Pennink (No. 3 Chevrolet)
• Pennink enters New Hampshire 33 points from the lead with three races to go. 
• In 13 races this season, Pennink has one win, two top fives and 10 top 10 finishes. 
• Pennink finished 21st at Riverhead last Saturday after being involved in a crash. 

• Pennink has 22 starts at NHMS, with four top fives and seven top 10s. 

David Sapienza (No. 36 Sapienza Enterprise Chevrolet)
• Sapienza enters NHMS seventh in the championship standings with just three races left to go. 
• In 13 races this year, Sapienza has three top fives and six top 10s.
• In July, Sapienza finished third in the Eastern Propane and Oil 100 at New Hampshire. 

• The New York native has finished inside the top 10 in two of his five career NHMS starts.

Matt Swanson (No. 89 Starrett Tools Ford)
• Swanson has one top five and five top 10s in the first 13 races this season.
• In four career starts at NHMS, Swanson has one top five, which came in this race last season. 
• In July, Swanson finished 28th with engine issues. 

• Swanson has a best finish of fourth this season at Seekonk on Aug. 26. 

Bobby Santos III (No. 44 Chevrolet)
• Santos has just six starts this season, but captured the victory in the July start at New Hampshire.
• In 130 career Whelen Modified Tour starts, Santos has 15 career wins.
• In his six starts this season, Santos has one win, four top fives and five top 10s. 

Up To Speed:
• This is the 33rd season of NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour action. The first race was in 1985 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.
• The 2017 schedule includes 16 points races at nine different tracks, across seven different states. It also includes two non-points events at New Hampshire Motor Speedway and Charlotte Motor Speedway.
• Timmy Solomito won the most recent series event at Riverhead Raceway on September 16.
• Following the F.W. Webb 100, the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track for the NAPA Fall Finale at Stafford on Sunday October 1.