NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

Goeters Gets Toyota Series Title

Richards Dominates For Mexico City Race Win
By Shon Sbarra, NASCAR
November 11, 2012 - 5:50pm

MEXICO CITY – Taking care of business was the order of the day.

In the Final Mexico Toyota 200 on Sunday at Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Jorge Goeters stayed in front of Daniel Suárez to win the 2012 series championship and Homero Richards started the race from the pole position and drove to Victory Lane.

Goeters entered the race with an 18-point advantage on Suárez giving him some breathing room, but it proved not to be necessary.

Suárez started from the third position while Goeters lined up sixth. After an early caution the rest of the race was run under green-flag conditions. Pit stops began on Lap 102 of the 150-lap event, and Suárez was maintaining a lead on Goeters up to that point. However, after each made their stop, they went in different directions. Goeters finished the race in eighth while Suárez settled for 25th.

For Goeters, it is his second Toyota Series championship having taken the title in 2005, but first since the series came under the NASCAR umbrella in 2007 for the driver of the No. 31 Canel’s/Ficrea/Luk Mazda. In the final standings, Goeters scored 34 points more than Richards, who finished one point in front of Suárez for second place.

It was the second victory of the season for Richards, who won this race a year ago, and the 11th of his series career behind the wheel of the No. 20 NEXTEL/Kellogg’s/H&H Toyota. He led a race-high 139 laps and was out front the whole way other than while the field cycled through green-flag pit stops.

Abraham Calderón finished as the race runner-up with Rubén García Jr. in third. With that effort García earned the series’ Rookie of the Year award. Elliot Van Rankin and Rubén Pardo finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

The remainder of the top 10 consisted of Antonio Pérez, Rogelio López, Goeters, Patrick Goeters, younger brother of the champion, and Rafael Martínez.

With the championship, Goeters earned a locked-in spot to the UNOH Battle At The Beach next February on the .4-mile oval at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway. The champions of NASCAR's three international series – Canada’s NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1, Mexico's NASCAR Toyota Series, and Euro-Racecar NASCAR Touring Series based in Europe – have a locked-in spot to one of the three races – NASCAR K&N Pro Series, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour or NASCAR Whelen All-American Series – they elect to enter.

Both Goeters and García will be honored at the NASCAR Night of Champions Touring Series Awards on Saturday, Dec. 8 in the Crown Ballroom at the Charlotte (N.C.) Convention Center within the NASCAR Hall of Fame.



Homero Richards (20) led a race-high 139 laps en route to a dominating NASCAR Toyota Series win on Sunday at Mexico City's Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez. Courtesy OCESA