NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

Steckly Weathers Wild West

Earns Second Consecutive Win in 2015
Tom Bryant, NASCAR
July 15, 2015 - 11:21pm

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada – Three-time NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Presented by Mobil 1 champion Scott Steckly calls the eastern edge of Ontario home, but after the week he’s had racing, he may consider relocating to Canada’s western region.

Piloting his No. 22 Canadian Tire Dodge, Steckly emerged from a fierce, race-long battle for the lead with Andrew Ranger, Jason Hathaway, and L.P. Dumoulin – and endured two red flag periods – to capture his second consecutive win of the season in the Velocity Prairie Thunder 250 at Auto Clearing Motor Speedway. Steckly won the Alberta Has Energy 300 just five days ago at Edmonton International Raceway. The victory increases his series record on ovals to 18, and is his third career win at ACMS.

1 Scott Steckly
2 Jason Hathaway
3 Andrew Ranger
4 Mark Dilley
5 Marc-Antoine Camirand

Jason Hathaway was sent to the rear of the field for remaining in the pit area too long after the halfway break, but rebounded to take the lead temporarily on Lap 226.  Steckly regained the top spot for good on Lap 239, but Hathaway held off Andrew Ranger to earn his second runner-up finish on the season.

Ranger led a total of four times during the race, but a slide on Lap 186 dropped him back in the field and he was forced to settle for a third place finish.

Mark Dilley was penalized for jumping the start on the initial green flag, moving to the rear of the field after a pass through penalty.  He climbed to fifth place by the halfway break, and finished in the fourth position for the night.

Jostens Rookie of the Year contender Marc-Antoine Camirand posted his second consecutive fifth-place finish and third overall for his career.

Noel Dowler, Alex Tagliani, J.F. Dumoulin, James Van Domselaar, and Adam Dowler rounded out the top 10.

The first 100 laps set the tone for the evening, featuring a constant battle for the lead between Steckly, L.P. Dumoulin, and Ranger, with Ranger and Steckly exchanging the lead three times and Dumoulin leading 11 laps in between.

On lap 102, Erica Thiering made hard contact on the backstretch and the cars of Joey McColm, Nick Jewell, Adam Dowler, and Matthew Scannell were collected. The red flag was displayed for over nine minutes as the track was cleared. 

At the halfway break, Steckly led Ranger, L.P. Dumoulin, Gary Klutt, and Mark Dilley.

On Lap 206, the red flag was displayed again as light rain forced a temporary delay in the racing action. The race included a total of nine caution flags.

The race will be televised on TSN on July 25 at 12:30 p.m. ET and on RDS2 at 2 p.m. on Aug. 8.

The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Presented by Mobil 1 returns to action on July 25 for the Lucas Oil National 250 at Autodrome St-Eustache in Quebec.


Scott Steckly (22) and Andrew Ranger traded the lead several times during the Velocity Prairie Thunder 250 at Auto Clearing Motor Speedway. Matthew Murnaghan/NASCAR