NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

Canadian Tire Series TV Package Announced

TSN And RDS Combine For Bilingual Coverage Of All Events
By Shon Sbarra, NASCAR
May 2, 2012 - 3:30pm

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series, Canada’s premier racing series, will have all of its 2012 events telecast in English and French on TSN, TSN2 and RDS2.

TSN, Canada’s Sports Leader, has been the series’ television home since the series’ inception in 2007, while RDS2 is airing races for a second straight season.

The schedule is highlighted by same-day coverage on TSN of the Saturday, Aug. 18 event at Montreal’s legendary Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, leading in to the network’s NASCAR Nationwide Series telecast from the famed road course. RDS will provide live coverage of the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series race from Montreal, marking the sixth straight year that the event is broadcast on the primary RDS platform with the event being re-aired on RDS2 later.

Ten of the 12 scheduled NASCAR Canadian Tire Series events in 2012 will have a one-hour show telecast nationally on a tape-delayed basis on both TSN and RDS2. The Montreal race and the Sept. 22 season finale at Kawartha Speedway will be 90 minutes in duration. Additionally, there will be a season in review show telecast on Saturday, Nov. 17 on TSN. (See broadcast schedule below.)

Many of the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series shows on TSN will be telecast adjacent to its coverage of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series or NASCAR Nationwide Series events.

“TSN has been a tremendous partner to the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series from the very beginning and adding the Canadian French-language coverage from RDS2 gives race fans the best of both worlds,” said George Silbermann, NASCAR vice president regional and touring series. “They can experience the thrill of the Canada’s premier stock-car racing series in person when the series comes to a nearby race track plus catch the action from all the races across the country with a television package that reflects the bilingual make-up of Canada.”

“The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series showcases the best that Canadian motorsport has to offer and we’re extremely pleased to support our homegrown talent on the racetrack through coverage of the series on TSN, TSN2 and in French on RDS and RDS2,” said Randy Paul, managing director, NASCAR Canada. “With the powerful NASCAR brand behind these drivers, the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series gives racing fans in Canada a thrilling stock-car series to call their own.”

“The support and enthusiasm from Canadian fans for the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series has continued to grow exponentially since our first race in 2007,” said Allan MacDonald, senior vice president of Automotive and Canadian Tire. “This is large part due to our partners at TSN and NASCAR who continue to create thrilling experiences both on the track and on television for fans across the country.”

The programs are produced by Fuel MediaLab (formerly James Robinson Associates Ltd.) and NASCAR Media Group which include race coverage, driver interviews and features. All coverage will be broadcast in HD.

For the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series broadcasts on TSN, Dave Bradley and Adam Ross will share the play-by-play duties and Billy Rowse Jr. will handle the color analysis.  They will be joined by host Vic Rauter and pit reporter Todd Lewis.  Didier Schraenen and Eric Descarries will handle calling the action on the RDS side.

Along with their NASCAR Canadian Tire Series coverage, TSN and RDS are the official broadcasters of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and NASCAR Nationwide Series in Canada. 

NASCAR CANADIAN TIRE SERIES BROADCAST SCHEDULE ON TSN & RDS2

Race Date Venue TSN/TSN2 Premiere RDS2 Premiere
Sun., May 20 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (RC) Sun., May 27, 4:30 p.m. Wed., June 13, 10 p.m.
Sun., June 3 Circuit ICAR Sat., June 16, 12:30 p.m. Wed. June 27, 10 p.m.
Sat., June 16 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (O) Sun., June 24, 1 p.m. Wed., July 11, 10 p.m.
Sat., June 23 Delaware Speedway Sun., July 8, 3 p.m. Wed., July 25, 10 p.m.
Sat., July 14 Motoplex Speedway Sun., July 22, 5 p.m. Sat., Aug. 11, 7:30 p.m.
Sun., July 22 Edmonton City Centre Airport Sat., July 28, 3 p.m.* Wed., Aug. 22, 10 p.m.
Wed., July 25 Auto Clearing Motor Speedway Sat., Aug. 4, 6:30 p.m.* Sun., Sept. 2, 6:30 p.m.
Sun., Aug. 5 Circuit de Trois-Rivieres Sat., Aug. 11, 9:30 p.m.* Wed., Sept. 5, 10 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 18 Circuit Gilles Villeneuve Sat., Aug. 18, 12:30 p.m. Wed., Sept. 19, 9:30 p.m.#
Sat., Sept. 8 Barrie Speedway Sat., Sept. 15, Noon Wed., Oct. 3, 10 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 15 Riverside International Speedway Sat., Sept. 22, Noon Wed., Oct. 17, 10 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 22 Kawartha Speedway Sat., Oct. 6, 4:30 p.m. Wed., Oct. 24, 9:30 p.m.
  2012 Year In Review Sat., Nov. 17, 3 p.m. ----

Times are ET. Check local listings for updated broadcast times.
* On TSN2
# Event also telecast live on RDS
TENTATIVE BROADCAST SCHEDULE – SUBJECT TO CHANGE