NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

QUALIFYING: Thorn Earns Third Career Pole

Season Points Leader Looks For Second Consecutive NAPA Win
By John Tejeda, NASCAR
September 28, 2013 - 7:54pm

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – Derek Thorn earned his third career NASCAR K&N Pro Series West Coors Light Pole Award Saturday at NAPA Speedway in advance of the NAPA Auto Parts 150 By NAPA AutoCare Centers.

Thorn, from Lakeport, Calif., recorded a fast lap of 20.055 seconds (89.753 mph) to edge Greg Pursley for the pole. Pursley, who topped the speed charts during both practice sessions earlier in the day, finished with a fast lap of 20.084 (89.624).

Six-time 2013 21 Means 21 Pole Award winner Cameron Hayley  qualified third around the half-mile paved oval at 20.126 (89.437) while Giles Thornton was fourth at 20.151 (89.326) and Eric Holmes fifth at 20.177 (89.210).

Chase Briscoe, Michael Self, Jay Beasley, Taylor Cuzick and Daryl Harr rounded out the top 10 qualifiers.

It was the second pole of the season for Thorn, who looks to win his second consecutive race at NAPA Speedway tonight in the APA Auto Parts 150 By NAPA AutoCare Centers. Green flag is scheduled for 10 p.m. ET (8 p.m. MT).