NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

Martinez Returns To Victory Lane

Ends 18-race slump with season-opening win
Official Release
March 21, 2010 - 3:25pm

AGUASCALIENTES, Mexico - Rafael Martinez returned to Victory Lane for the first time in over a year with a win in the season-opening Pennzoil 240 Sunday at Autodromo Aguascalientes.

Martinez passed Jorge Goeters for the lead on lap 130 on the 1400-meter oval and led the final 39 laps en route to the win. The race was concluded after it reached the two-hour time limit. It was Martinez's 13th career win in the NASCAR Mexico Series - second all-time by Rogelio Lopez's 18 wins - and his first since Aug. 17, 2008 (a span of 18 races).

Antonio Perez finished second, followed by Lopez, Jorge Goeters and Patrick Goeters. Defending champion Germain Quiroga finished 23rd, 93 laps down.

Lopez won the pole Saturday and led the first 63 laps. Jorge Goeters, Ruben Rovelo, Patrick Goeters, Germain Quiroga and Alejandro Capin also led laps.

The race was slowed by nine yellow flags.

The NASCAR Mexico Series returns to the track April 11 at Querétaro.


For more information see


Rafael Martinez does a burnout in Victory Lane following Sunday's win. OCESA