NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

Double Cedar Lake Titles For Larson In 2012

Veteran NWAAS Competitor Plans Same Schedule This Year
By Paul Schaefer, NASCAR
January 23, 2013 - 10:44am

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Brent Larson won two NASCAR Whelen All-American Series championships in two divisions at Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wis., in 2012. It’s the first time in his 19-year racing career he won double championships.

“We didn’t plan on running for both championships,” Larson said. “We just started the season out with both cars for several weeks to see what happened, and that’s probably what we’ll do again this year.”

Larson won his third career Cedar Lake NASCAR Late Model title by 31 points over defending track champ Rick Hanestad. He placed 11th in the NASCAR state championship, a title he won in 2008. His 2012 racing record was two wins, eight top fives and 13 top 10s in 13 starts.

He won his first Modified title at the .375-mile dirt track by 29 points over Jason Gross. He had three wins, eight top fives and nine top 10s in 10 starts and finished 42nd in the NASCAR Finalist Division II dirt track point standings.

“When you’re racing in two divisions like we did at Cedar Lake a lot of things can happen,” Larson said. “Our classes ran back to back. The more you do it the easier it is to change your mindset. Still, I jump out of the Modified after the feature and right into the Late Model for the next feature. The Late Models get a couple pace laps. But the time I get out there, I may get only a half lap to get acclimated. It’s a big change from one car to the other.”

He races at other tracks on other nights, but his two-car effort is exclusive at Cedar Lake.

“We always want to have both cars ready for Saturday night at Cedar Lake, so racing both cars together on other nights might put us behind,” Lawson said.

Larson began his racing career at age 16 in 1993. His dad Dennis was a two-time Limited Late Model champion. Young Larson won his first Super Stock division title in only his third year of racing. Then he moved up to Late Models. He won track and series dirt Late Model championships and more than 60 features, but didn’t settle into NASCAR weekly racing at Cedar Lake Speedway until recent years.

Larson is the owner-driver of his Larry Shaw chassis dirt Late Model and his Modified is owned by John Evenson. Jim Weeks is crew chief and team members include Tyler Warnke, John Bauer, Tom Donahue and Ben Fischer. Sponsors include Olson Carriers, HANCO Corp., and Professional Drainage Services. Larson also operates Quality Fab Inc., a sheet metal fabrication company specializing in dirt Late Model bodies.

Larson said he’ll begin his 2013 season with two new Larry Shaw chassis race cars, and begin his Saturday night season in both divisions at Cedar Lake Speedway to see where the season takes him.

Cedar Lake Speedway opens its 55th season of operation with a two-day event April 5-6.

Larson was honored in December for his track championships during the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Awards event at the Charlotte Convention Center’s Crown Ballroom at the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

A driver’s best 18 results through Sept. 16 counted toward their states and national point totals, and the champions are decided on overall point total. Once a driver reached 18 starts, their total increased incrementally as they replace some poorer runs with better results.

Under the point structure for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series, the race winner receives two points for every car in the event up to 20 cars. Second place receives two fewer points and so on through the field. Race winners receive an additional five points. For example, if 20 cars are in the field, the winner receives 45 points, second place 38 and third 36. If there are 15 cars, the winner receives 35 points, second 28 and third, 26.