NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

Whelen Modified Stat Advance: Charlotte

Analyzing The Southern Slam 150
By Kyle Souza,
October 5, 2017 - 1:13pm

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour teams will compete in the second of two non-points events on Friday evening at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Below is a statistical look at the race, including selected driver notes:

Southern Slam 150 Race Setup:
• This marks the second non-points event of the 2017 season for the unified NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour. The first non-points event was held at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, where Ryan Preece went to Victory Lane in July. 
• Burt Myers and George Brunnhoelzl III are the only drivers to win multiple races at the Charlotte oval in the past. Myers has won three (2010, 2013, 2014) and Brunnhoelzl won twice in 2012 and 2015.  
• The Southern Slam 150 will be run on the quarter-mile track along the frontstretch of Charlotte Motor Speedway. This will be the first non-points race for the series at Charlotte.

At Charlotte Motor Speedway:

• Construction began on Charlotte Motor Speedway in 1959.
• The track’s first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race was held on June 19, 1960 – won by Joe Lee Johnson.
• The track was repaved midseason in 1994.
• The track's name changed from Charlotte Motor Speedway to Lowe’s Motor Speedway in 1999. It changed back to Charlotte Motor Speedway for the 2010 season.
• The track was re-paved again before the 2006 season.
• There have been 117 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series points races at Charlotte Motor Speedway, two races per year since the track opened in 1960.
• The Charlotte quarter-mile track held its first NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour race on Oct. 14, 2010 – a race won by Burt Myers.

• Charlotte played host to the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour every year since 2010.
• The six previous events have resulted in four different winners – Burt Myers (2010, 2013, 2014), Tim Brown (2011), George Brunnhoelzl III (2012, 2015) and Ryan Preece (2016). 
• Brunnhoelzl has four career pole awards, while Preece has two. Andy Seuss also won a pole at the track. 
• Burt Myers has finished inside the top five in six of seven prior races at Charlotte. 
• Brunnhoelzl has led the most laps of tour competition at Charlotte, running out front for 554 laps.
• Burt Myers has an average finish of 2.9 – which is the best among all drivers who have competed in all seven prior races.

Charlotte Motor Speedway Data
Non-Points Races: #2 of 2 overall
Track Layout: .25-mile asphalt oval
Race Length: 150 laps / 37.5 miles

Qualifying/Race Data
2016 Pole Winner: George Brunnhoelzl III
2015 Race Winner: Ryan Preece
Track Qualifying Record: Ryan Preece, Chevrolet, 14.612 seconds, 61.593 mph, Oct. 9, 2014

Active Category Leaders at Charlotte:

1. Burt Myers … 3
2. George Brunnhoelzl … 2

1. George Brunnhoelzl III … 4
2. Ryan Preece … 2
3. Andy Seuss … 1

Top Fives
1. Burt Myers … 7
2. George Brunnhoelzl III … 6
3. Danny Bohn … 4

Top 10s
1. Burt Myers … 6
2. George Brunnhoelzl III … 5
3. Andy Seuss … 5

Laps Led
1. George Brunnhoelzl III … 554
2. Ryan Preece… 252
3. Burt Myers … 231

Laps Completed
1. Burt Myers … 1064
2. Andy Seuss … 1007
3. Jason Myers … 915

Selected Participant Notes:

Doug Coby (No. 2 Mayhew Tools Chevrolet)
• The four-time Whelen Modified Tour champion is currently leading the unified Whelen Modified Tour point standings. 
• Coby has won the last three titles, becoming the only driver in the modern era to win three straight. 
• The defending champion has 23 wins in 203 career Whelen Modified Tour starts. 
• Coby will make his first appearance at the Charlotte oval on Friday night. 

Danny Bohn (No. 40 Rustoleum/Dunleavy's/William E Smith Trucking  Chevrolet)

• Will make his first unified Whelen Modified Tour start of the season at Charlotte. 
• The Freehold, N.J. native has four top five finishes in his five previous starts at Charlotte. 
• Bohn has four career Whelen Southern Modified Tour victories to his credit. 

CJ Lehmann (No. 74 IGA Foods Chevrolet)
• Lehmann has four starts this season with a best finish of sixth at Riverhead in September.
• Lehmann has never visited the Charlotte oval before.
• Lehmann won the season-finale in the Crate Modified division at Riverhead last weekend. 

Jamie Tomiano (No. 99 Dunleavy Truck & Trailer Repair Chevrolet)
• The veteran has 617 career Whelen Modified Tour starts, including three this season. 
• Tomaino has never started a race at the Charlotte oval behind the wheel. 
• Has completed nearly 80,000 laps in his career.

Ryan Preece (No. 7 Bardahl Chevrolet)
• The Berlin, Conn. driver has five wins on the unified Whelen Modified Tour this season.
• Preece was the 2013 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion. 
• In 5 starts at Charlotte, Preece has one win and three top five finishes. 

Calvin Carroll (No. 39 Power With Prestige/Cruising With Betty Chevrolet)
• Carroll has clinched the 2017 Sunoco Rookie of the Year for the unified Whelen Modified Tour.
• In 15 starts this season, Carroll has a best finish of 13th.
• He has never started a race at Charlotte. 

Corey LaJoie (No. 11 Dunleavy Truck and Trailer Repair Chevrolet)
• The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver has 26 starts on the circuit this season. 
• LaJoie has one career Whelen Southern Modified Tour event back in 2010.
• LaJoie also has six career NASCAR K&N Pro Series East wins in his career. 

Up To Speed:
• This is the 33rd season of NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour competition. The inaugural event was held at Stafford Motor Speedway in March of 1985, a race won by Richie Evans.
• The 2017 unified NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour schedule 16 points races at nine different tracks across seven different states. It included two non-points events, the New Hampshire Whelen Engineering All-Star Race in July and Friday's Bad Boy Off Road Southern Slam 150. 
• The unified NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track on Sunday, October 15, where the 2017 champion will be crowned at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in Thompson, Conn.