NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

FINAL PRACTICE: Larson Battles On

Goodale Claims Second Heat Pole
By Shon Sbarra, NASCAR
February 19, 2013 - 2:45pm

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Fresh off a win in Monday night’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model race at the UNOH Battle At The Beach, Kyle Larson registered the fastest lap in final practice for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event.

Larson, who hails from Elk Grove, Calif., had not driven a NASCAR Modified before yesterday and promptly posted fast time in Monday’s practice session. Today, he laid down a 18.567-second lap for an average speed of 77.557 mph on the .4-mile oval at Daytona International Speedway.

As the busiest man in the house, Larson is competing in all three UNOH Battle At The Beach events with the NASCAR K&N Pro Series completing the trio.

Eric Goodale, from Riverhead, N.Y., had the second-fastest lap of the session with a time of 18.639 seconds (77.257 mph). Goodale scored a top-10 finish in his Whelen Modified Tour debut in 2008 at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway that has a similar shape to the Daytona circuit.

As a result of those times, Larson and Goodale will start from the pole in the two qualifying heat races later today with Larson getting the nod in the first heat.

John Smith was third on the charts with a time of 18.650 seconds (77.212 mph) followed by Todd Szegedy at 18.699 seconds (77.009 mph) and 2011 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Ron Silk at 18.700 seconds (77.005 mph) in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Ryan Preece, Burt Myers, Dave Brigati, Steve Park and nine-time NASCAR champion Mike Stefanik rounded out the top 10.

The speeds from the final practice session will be used to set the lineups for the two qualifying heat races. Drivers were permitted to enter the track just once for an unlimited time to establish their best lap.

In the first 45-minute practice session of the day Burt Myers led the way with a time of 18.579 seconds (77.507 mph) followed by Goodale and Preece. 

The Whelen Modified Tour will have two qualifying heat races to set the race lineup with the first one getting underway at 5 p.m. ET. The Modified 150-lap main event is slated for a 7:15 p.m. ET start. SPEED and MRN will carry the action beginning at 7 p.m. The MRN coverage will also be picked up by SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, channel 90.