NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

QUALIFYING: Larson, Szegedy Win Heats

Mod Tour Regular Wins Coin Toss For Inside Position
By Shon Sbarra, NASCAR
February 19, 2013 - 6:02pm

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Kyle Larson and Todd Szegedy won the two NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour qualifying heat races for the UNOH Battle At The Beach on Tuesday at Daytona International Speedway.

Szegedy, out of Ridgefield, Conn., claimed the pole position as a result of a coin toss between the two heat winners.  By choosing the inside position the entire field from the second heat followed in order of their finish to make up the inside column for the main event. Szegedy scored his seventh consecutive top-five finish in Whelen Modified Tour points in 2012.

In the first heat Larson got the best of 2011 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Ron Silk. Nine-time NASCAR champion Mike Stefanik finished third.

The lone caution in the first heat was for an accident by NASCAR veteran competitor Steve Park, who has 197 Whelen Modified Tour starts to his name along with 183 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series starts.

Szegedy took the checkered flag in the second qualifying heat, which was slowed due to caution on three occasions, followed by Eric Goodale and Danny Bohn in second and third.

The feature race for the Whelen Modifieds is scheduled for a 7:15 p.m. start. Coverage on SPEED and MRN will begin at 7 p.m. this evening.