Skip to content


Abraham Calderón won the 2017 NASCAR PEAK Mexico Series championship and will make his NASCAR K&N Pro Series East debut Sunday at New Smyrna (Fla.) Speedway. (NASCAR PEAK Mexico Series)

Abraham Calderón To Make K&N Pro Debut

Will Team With Juan Manuel Gonzalez In Season Opener At New Smyrna

Abraham Calderón is looking to follow in the path blazed by fellow countryman Daniel Suárez and race in the DAYTONA 500.

To achieve his goal, the Monterrey, Mexico, driver is taking the next step in his racing career and will make his debut in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East season opener on Sunday, Feb. 11, at nearby New Smyrna Speedway. Calderon is a two-time NASCAR PEAK Mexico Series champion (2014 & ’17), and will be driving the No. 55 PEAK / Nextgen Motorsports Toyota.

The NASCAR K&N Pro Series is the top developmental step for drivers looking to progress to one of NASCAR’s three top series (Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, NASCAR Xfinity Series, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series). In addition to Suárez, drivers who have raced in the K&N Pro Series en route to 2018 Daytona 500 include Kyle Larson, William Byron, Chase Elliott, Joey Logano and others.

The 29-year-old Calderón (@abrahamcalderun) won five times last year to earn his second NASCAR PEAK Mexico Series title. He returned to North America this week after racing in the prestigious Race of Champions Nations Cup in Saudi Arabia earlier this month.

Calderón’s teammate with NextGen Motorsports at New Smyrna will be Juan Manuel Gonzalez. The 18-year-old from Mexico City will also be making his NASCAR K&N Pro Series debut and will drive the No. 5 Illux-Mexico Toyota. Gonzalez won the NASCAR Challenge Series finale in Mexico City last November. The Challenge Series is the top support series for the NASCAR PEAK Mexico Series.

Calderón and Gonzalez will be joined in Sunday’s race field by Rubén García Jr., who is driving full-time in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East with Rev Racing as part of the NASCAR Drive for Diversity program. García won the NASCAR PEAK Mexico Series championship in 2014.

The New Smyrna 175 will air live on on Sunday night at 7:30 pm ET, and on tape-delayed basis on NBCSN on Tuesday, Feb 27 at 6 p.m.