Skip to content
HAGERSVILLE, ON - June 16: Rakin Construction 200 for the NASCAR Pinty's Series at Jukasa Motor Speedway June 16, 2018 in Hagersville, Ontario. (Photo: Matthew Manor/NASCAR)
The NASCAR Pinty’s Series offers nearly $160,000 in cash awards distributed during the season and postseason.. (Matthew Manor/NASCAR)

New Competitor Incentives Reward Commitment to Pinty’s Series

New bonus program first discussed several seasons ago now a reality for all competitors in Canada’s national championship stock car series, in addition to renewed contingency programs.

In addition to the new award this season, the NASCAR Pinty’s Series offers nearly $160,000 in cash awards distributed during the season and postseason.

Spectra Premium, which also sponsors several teams this season in the series, is one of six contingency sponsors that helped build this year’s program into one of the best in NASCAR.

E3 Spark Plugs, Dodge-Mopar Performance, FDP Brakes, Jostens, and Leland Industries all are part of the program offering up to 11 awards to competitors per race and six postseason cash awards.

In addition to those awards, NASCAR listened to its competitor’s suggestions to reward competitors who make a commitment to the series and came up with a new program this season.

The NASCAR Pinty’s Series features a 13-race schedule that features four races on road courses (Canadian Tire Motorsport Park – 2, Trois-Rivieres and Toronto Grand Prix) and nine oval-track events (Jukasa -2, Wyant Group Raceway -2, Autodrome Chaudiere, Riverside, Edmonton, New Hampshire Motor Speedway and St. Eustache).

Now the series will recognize drivers who perform the best each discipline of track or road course.

Cherie Putnam, Director of the Pinty’s Series, stated recently the new incentive program is a result of positive collaboration between the teams, Pinty’s and NASCAR.

“We have a core group of drivers who reached out to us last year with this idea,” said Putnam. “We had some good dialogue and decided to start this new program this season to give all competitors an opportunity to earn some new recognition.”

One driver will be recognized as the top performer on road courses and one as the top performer on ovals during the season.

“The championship will still be the biggest prize a driver can win at the end of our season, but we feel this new program will also recognize a driver who has excelled on the track as well,” said Putnam.

Each driver will have their points accumulated on road courses and ovals and the driver with the highest point total on each will win the recognition.

Updated standings on this program will be available starting in mid-July and will be updated after each event.

“We hope to build on this program moving forward and continue to work with our competitors to keep improving the Pinty’s Series,” said Putnam. “We have some great drivers that compete full-time and we’re happy that this new incentive has started to reward our dedicated competitors.”

After the first three races of the season, there has been three different winners with L.P. Dumoulin winning on a road course at CTMP, and Andrew Ranger (Autodrome Chaudiere) and Kevin Lacroix (Jukasa Motor Speedway) winning on ovals.