Skip to content


Mm9 1036
D.J Kennington scores his 14th career E3 Spark Plugs Pole Award here at Jukasa Motor Speedway (Matthew Manor/ NASCAR)

QUALIFYING: D.J Kennington Storms to Second Career Jukasa Pole

HAGERSVILLE, Ont — D.J Kennington won the E3 Spark Plugs Pole Award Saturday afternoon for the NASCAR Pinty’s Series’ Pinty’s Fall Brawl at Jukasa Motor Speedway.

Kennington’s No.17 Castrol Edge Dodge set a time of 18.846 seconds (119.389mph) to claim his first pole of the 2018 season and second at the .625-mile oval.

In the championship picture, Alex Tagliani qualified sixth. LP Dumoulin, who enters the event with a four-point lead over Tagliani, initially qualified 10th but had his time disallowed when his car did not pass post-qualifying technical inspection. Instead, he will roll off 19th.

The 40-year-old driver from St.Thomas, Ontario, won the first E3 Spark Plugs Pole Award in 2007 when Jukasa was known as Cayuga Speedway, and will be looking to score his first Pinty’s Series victory since Trois-Rivieres in 2013. Kennington also set the track record (18.578) last year.


Cole Powell comes into this race third in points, 19 points behind LP Dumoulin. Powell set a time of 18.848 (119.376), less than two-one thousandths of a second behind Kennington. This marks Powell’s second consecutive front row start of the season.

New Hampshire Motor Speedway winner Kevin Lacroix was third with a time of 18.876 (119.199). Lacroix won at Jukasa in June.


Andrew Ranger and Donald Theetge will complete the top five.

Alex Tagliani comes into Jukasa four points behind Dumoulin. Tagliani will roll off the grid sixth. Anthony Simone will roll off the grid seventh.

Peter Shepherd III, Adam Martin and Marc-Antoine Camirand will round out the top ten starters.

In addition to Dumoulin, three others drivers failed post-qualifying inspection and had their times disallowed: Luc Haukaas, Trevor Monaghan and Larry Jackson.

The final green flag of the 2018 season will fly at 7:35 p.m.