Champion Spotlight: Four Drivers Find Glory at Cedar Lake

Doar Adds Another Crown; Leer, Gullikson & Koehler Find Championship Glory

NEW RICHMOND, Wis. — The 2018 season at the famed Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wisconsin, has concluded and it produced a pair of first-time NASCAR track champions along with a pair of familiar faces sitting on top of their respective NASCAR divisions final point standings.

Pat Doar, Matt Leer, Dan Gullikson and Nick Koehler will all be etched in the legendary history of the western Wisconsin oval after topping their divisions track points battles for the 2018 season.

New Richmond native Pat Doar topped the 2018 NASCAR Super Late Model track championship point standings for the seventh time in his hall of fame career and his second time in the last four seasons.

Doar, who won his first track title in 1993 in the Super Stock division, raced to his sixth Late Model championship by 17 points over Jesse Glenz. He debuted a new Rocket Chassis this season was very consistent en route to the title, never finishing outside of the top eight in feature events.

“Some years I have had a good cars and been track champion, where some years I have had good fortune on the track compared to my competitors and won track titles,” Doar said. “But this year, my racing results were because of a good race car and a lot of luck.”

RELATED: 2018 Race Results | 2019 Race Schedule

In the NASCAR Modified division, Bruce, Wisconsin, driver Matt Leer claimed his first career Cedar Lake track championship and he did it in dramatic fashion. Leer won the opening night of the season and never finished worse than fifth in NASCAR features all season long, but had to hold on to a fourth place finish in the season finale to claim the track title by a mere one point over Darrell Nelson.

“It means a lot to me,” Leer said. “All the hard work and devoted time my team and I put into the season paid off. Also, getting to experience this accomplishment for my sons first race season made it that much sweeter.”

Roberts, Wisconsin racer Dan Gullikson claimed his second consecutive NASCAR Pro Stock track title by 16 points at seasons end over Jesse Redetzke. The championship is Gullikson’s fifth overall at Cedar Lake. He claimed Street Stock titles in 2002, 2003 and 2004 and his first Pro Stock title a year ago.

Dan went to Victory Lane three times in NASCAR features this year.

“I think the dash points system keeps the racing very close. Both years it came down to the last night so you had to be good all year and at the end to win the dashes,” Gullikson said. “The competition is tough, especially when everyone in the top ten in points can win on any given night. I guess what stands out the most was having a good support system behind me all year and I hope all my junior fans like getting trophies as much as I like giving them away.”

RELATED: Cedar Lake Speedway Track History | Purchase Cedar Lake Track Gear

Nick Koehler, of Bloomer, Wisconsin, raced to his first career Cedar Lake NASCAR Midwest Modified track championship in 2018, becoming the second first-time track champ in CLS history in the process. Nick won three NASCAR features along the way and dethroned five-time and defending champ Jason VandeKamp by 26 points in the process.

Koehler had never visited Victory Lane at Cedar Lake in his career until 2018, but got there early in the season and never looked back.

“It’s an honor to be a Cedar Lake NASCAR track champion,” Koehler said. “It was a goal we set early in the season and I’m proud to have accomplished it.”

With the 2018 season in the rear-view mirror, Cedar Lake will kick off its 2019 NASCAR season in early April. Visit for the official 2019 schedule along with ticket prices, updates and results.

Pat Doar captured another championship at Cedar Lake Speedway this season. (Vince Peterson/Cedar Lake Speedway)