at the Arizona Lottery 100 held at ISM Speedway in Avondale, AZ on Nov. 9, 2019.
Sam Mayer's fourth career pole and first of his career in the K&N Pro Series West came at ISM Raceway. (Meg Oliphant/NASCAR)

QUALIFYING: Sam Mayer Earns Fourth Career Pole With ISM Quick Time

AVONDALE, Ariz. — Sam Mayer backed up his fast lap in practice with a pole-winning circuit of 27.444 seconds to earn the top spot for the K&N Pro Series West season finale at ISM Raceway.

Zane Smith (27.943), Ty Majeski (27.981), Trevor Huddleston (28.076) and Drew Dollar (28.154) rounded out the top five speeds. Jagger Jones, Brittney Zamora, Jack Wood, Matt Levin and Travis Milburn completed the top 10.

Following qualifying, the cars of Riley Herbst (No. 10), Ty Gibbs (No. 40), Derek Kraus (No. 16), Corey Heim (No. 22), Hailie Deegan (No. 19), Trenton Moriarity (No. 55), Todd Souza (No. 13), Taylor Canfield (No. 7) and Tony Cosentino (No. 38) failed inspection.

Souza and Cosentino failed based on right side weight. All others failed based on skew.

Their qualifying times were disallowed and those cars will line up based on provisionals per the rule book, after the cars that recorded qualifying times.

Kraus will line up 16th and will clinch the K&N West championship as soon as the green flag flies.


The pole is for Mayer is his first in K&N Pro Series West competition and fourth overall. In last night’s Gander Outdoors Truck Series race, the Franklin, Wisconsin native finished 19th.

The Arizona Lottery 100 is scheduled to begin at 4:15 p.m. MT. FansChoice.TV and MRN Radio will have live coverage of the event.