The NASCAR K&N Pro Series, which includes the East and the West, is the last step in NASCAR’s developmental ladder before drivers progress to the three national series.

The series introduces NASCAR fans to the next generation of stars, and the diverse mix of short tracks, road courses, and national series speedways appeals to a broad range of motorsports fans. With identical series racing throughout the country, the K&N Pro Series provides an opportunity for young drivers to gain valuable experience and exposure to highly competitive racing.

Since 2007, NASCAR K&N Pro Series drivers have made a significant impact at the national level, including Joey Logano, was crowned the 2018 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion. Logano’s racing roots come from the K&N Pro Series, where he won his first race in his first career start at South Carolina’s Greenville Pickens Speedway. He also became the first driver in series history to win both the Rookie of the Year and championship in the same season — a feat that five other drivers have since also accomplished.

William Byron, who won the 2015 K&N Pro Series East championship, won in his second career start, and also won the title in his Rookie of the Year season. Byron moved to the NASCAR Xfinity Series and won the title there in his Rookie season in 2017, and since has moved to the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, where he won the Rookie of the Year honors in 2018 driving for powerhouse operation Hendrick Motorsports.

NASCAR Next driver Harrison Burton, who competes in the NASCAR Gander Outdoor Truck Series, eclipsed Logano as the youngest champion in series history when he won the championship in 2017. Burton clinched his first title at 16 years, 11 months and 20 days, a mark that was four months younger than Logano. Current Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series stars Chase Elliott, Ryan Blaney, Austin and Ty Dillon, Kyle Larson, Daniel Hemric, Daniel Suarez, Darrell Wallace Jr., and others, all have past success in the K&N Pro Series.

The NASCAR K&N Pro Series East originated as the NASCAR Busch North Series in 1987, before becoming the NASCAR Busch East Series in 2006, and the Camping World East Series in 2008. NASCAR welcomed K&N Filters as the sponsor of the class in 2010.

Kneasthistorypage Dover06
Kelly Moore (47), the all-time wins leader in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East, races former driver and current Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion Crew Chief Paul Wolfe at Dover in 2006. (NASCAR)



First Race: Darlington Raceway, March 28, 1987

First Race Winner: Dale Earnhardt

First Pole Winner:  Geoffrey Bodine

First Champion: Joey Kourafas

First Female To Start For A Race: Karen Schulz, Oxford Plains Speedway, July 1989

First Road Course Race: Fisher Snow Plows 125, Watkins Glen International, June 1993

First Sunoco Rookie of the Year: Joe Bessey (1988)

First Combo Race With K&N West: Minnesota 150, Elko Speedway, May 2007

The first race of the NASCAR Busch East Series was in 2007, at Greenville-Pickens Speedway in South Carolina. (NASCAR)

YEAR-BY-YEAR: K&N Pro Series East Results & Point Standings



Number of Series Races: 553 (Beginning of 2019)

Most Career Starts: 

FULL LIST: K&N Pro Series East All-Time Wins Leaders

Most Career Wins:

  • Kelly Moore... 27
  • Brad Leighton… 24
  • Andy Santerre… 23

    Busch North Moore
    Kelly Moore, who leads the all-time wins and poles list in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East, poses with his championship trophy. (NASCAR)

Most Races Won in a Season: 

  • Ricky Craven… 10 (1991)
  • Brad Leighton… 6 (1999) & Dylan Kwasniweski… 6 (2013)
  • Drivers have won five races in one season six different times

Most Career Poles:

Most Consecutive Races Won:

  • 5 — Ricky Craven (1991)
  • 4 — Ben Rhodes (2014)
  • 3 — Three different drivers have won three straight races a total of three times

Most Top Five Finishes in a Season:

  • Mike Stefanik… 14 (1997) & Brad Leighton… 14 (1999)
  • A driver has scored 13 top five finishes in a season twice
  • A driver has scored 12 top five finishes in a season three times

Most Poles Won in a Season:

FULL LIST: K&N Pro Series East Poles Leaders

Most Laps Led in a Season:

Drivers To Win a Race in Both K&N East & West:

Youngest Driver To Win A Race:

Highest Race Finish by a Female in K&N Pro Series History: Hailie Deegan (1st, Idaho’s Meridian Speedway, 2018)

Highest Race Finish by a Female in K&N Pro Series East History: Kenzie Ruston (2nd, Iowa Speedway, August 2014)

NEWTON, IA - JULY 31: Kenzie Ruston, driver of the #4 L&M Ethanol Toyota, during practice for the NASCAR K&N Pro Series #ThanksKenney 150 race, at Iowa Speedway on July 31, 2015 in Newton, Iowa. (Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/NASCAR via Getty Images) *** Local Caption *** Kenzie Ruston
Kenzie Ruston holds the record for the highest finishing female in NASCAR K&N Pro Series East history. (Brian Lawdermilk/NASCAR via Getty Images)

Highest Points Finish by a Female in K&N Pro Series History: Hailie Deegan (5th in 2018)

Highest Points Finish by a Female in K&N Pro Series East History: Kenzie Ruston (6th in 2013)

Smallest Margin in Championship Standings:

Closest Finishes in History:

WOODFORD, VA - MAY 30: Spencer Davis, driver of the #41 Davis Poultry/Ruud.com Chevrolet, takes the checkered flag in front of Justin Haley, driver of the #5 Braun Auto Chevrolet, to win the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East ComServe 150 on May 30, 2016 in Woodford, Virginia. (Photo by Matt Hazlett/NASCAR via Getty Images)
Spencer Davis edges Justin Haley in the closest NASCAR K&N Pro Series East finish in history at Dominion Raceway in 2016. (Matt Hazlett/NASCAR via Getty Images)

Most Lead Changes in a Single Race:

Most Cautions in a Single Race:

Largest Numbers of Cars To Start A Race:

Worst Starting Position For A Winner:

Drivers To Win Rookie of the Year & Championship in Same Season:

Number of Different Race Winners (Season): 13 — 1987

Car Owners To Win More Than One Title:

  • Allen Avery (1988-1990)
  • Don Crisman (1992 & 1993)
  • Mike Greci (1997 & 1998)
  • Steve & Peg Griswold (1999-2000 & 2005)
  • Joe Bessey (2003 & 2004)
  • J.D. Gibbs (2007 & 2011)
  • Harry Scott Jr. (2014 & 2016)



New Smyrna Speedway (New Smyrna, Fla.)

1-lap qualifying record: 94.333 mph, 18.318 seconds (Todd Gilliland, February 2016)

Bristol Motor Speedway (Bristol, Tenn.)

1-lap qualifying record: 126.578 mph, 15.159 seconds (Noah Gragson, April 2018)

South Boston Speedway (South Boston, Va.)

1-lap qualifying record: 98.039 mph, 14.688 seconds (Grant Quinlan, May 2018)

Memphis International Raceway (Memphis, Tenn.)

1-lap qualifying record: 117.493 mph, 22.980 seconds (Tyler Ankrum, June 2018)

Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (Thompson, Conn.)

1-lap qualifying record: 112.793 mph, 19.948 seconds (Spencer Davis, July 2018)

New Hampshire Motor Speedway (Loudon, N.H.)

1-lap qualifying record: 130.376 mph, 29.214 seconds (Derek Kraus, July 2018)

Iowa Speedway (Newton, Iowa)

1-lap qualifying record: 135.484 mph, 23.250 seconds (Kyle Busch, May 2009)

Watkins Glen International (Watkins Glen, N.Y.)

1-lap qualifying record: 121.039 mph, 72.869 seconds (Brodie Kostecki, August 2014)

Gateway Motorsports Park (Madison, Ill.)

1-lap qualifying record: 109.047 mph (Spencer Davis, August 2018)

1-lap qualifying record: 157.143 mph, 22.909 seconds (Harrison Burton, October 2018)

LOUDON, NH - SEPTEMBER 22: Cars race during the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East Apple Barrel 125 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on September 22, 2018 in Loudon, New Hampshire. (Photo by Adam Glanzman/NASCAR)
The NASCAR K&N Pro Series East visits New Hampshire Motor Speedway twice a year, including as companions to a Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race in July. (Adam Glanzman/NASCAR)