Stafford Motor Speedway

Semi-banked oval
Stafford Motor Speedway is a half-mile, semi-banked oval located in Stafford Springs, Connecticut. The facility opened in 1870 and was known as the Stafford Springs Agricultural Park to showcase the area’s agricultural heritage. The half-mile track hosted horse racing on a dirt track until the end of WWII when auto racing took hold. The track has hosted NASCAR weekly racing since 1959.
  • Became an asphalt track in 1967.
  • Jack Arute purchased Stafford Speedway in 1970 and the track has been in the Arute family ever since.
  • Stafford Speedway has hosted 122 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour events since the Tour’s inception in 1985.
  • Stafford Speedway has hosted 30 K&N Pro Series East events since Tour’s inception in 1987.
Track Info